When I’m not on the Mississippi near Clarksville, I head to sourthern Missouri to float. Check out a May adventure I took to float the Meramec River near Steelville Missouri.

Caveman Jones

A few weeks ago, a couple of friends and I got up early and headed to Steelville Missouri for our first float of the year. No crowds and nice weather made it a great day to float.

I brought my Dagger kayak and my buddies rented a canoe. They paid $20 each but I had to pay $25 just for a one-way shuttle! Next time I’m bringing my Gazetteer and hopefully my buddies have bought their own boats.

Missouri Atlas & Gazetteer

We soaked up the sun the whole float but right at the takeout felt the first drops of rain. We drove home in the rain thinking we stole one from Mother Nature. I made it home by 5:30 and headed to the Clarksville Artist Guild meeting!

View original post

Leave a Reply

